Kicking Off MLB Award Season with the Baseball Writers’ Association of America Awards

Way more fun, interesting, and shorter than the Oscars, Emmy’s, Grammy’s, and all the other irrelevant, unimportant awards, the MLB awards season gives deserving players a chance to pick up a little extra hardware for their trophy cases. I love it because it recognizes players for their skill, even if their team didn’t win the World Series or even make it to the postseason. It’s also a great way to spend the first two weeks of the postseason, when we’re all already dying without baseball.

Before we start talking free agents, prospects, trades, and 2018, let the 2017 highlights reels roll. Here are your finalists for the Baseball Writers’ Association of America Awards:


American League

Manager of the Year

  • Terry Francona, Cleveland Indians
  • A.J. Hinch, Houston Astros
  • Maul Molitor, Minnesota Twins

Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

  • Andrew Benintendi, Boston Red Sox
  • Aaron Judge, New York Yankees
  • Trey Mancini, Baltimore Orioles

Cy Young

  • Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians
  • Chris Sale, Boston Red Sox
  • Luis Severino, New York Yankees


  • José Altuve, Houston Astros
  • Aaron Judge, New York Yankees
  • José Ramirez, Cleveland Indians

National League

Manager of the Year

  • Bud Black, Colorado Rockies
  • Torey Lovullo, Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Dave Roberts, Los Angeles Dodgers

Rookie of the Year

  • Cody Bellinger, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • Josh Bell, Pittsburgh Pirates
  • Paul DeJong, St. Louis Cardinals

Cy Young

  • Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • Max Scherzer, Washington Nationals
  • Stephen Strasburg, Washington Nationals


  • Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Giancarlo Stanton, Miami Marlins
  • Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds



Leave a Reply