New Premier League Playmaker Award

The Premier League has announced the start of a new award to accompany the already existing Golden Boot and Golden Glove Awards. The Playmaker Award will be the name given to the new award and it will be presented to honor the footballer who provides the most assists by the end of the Premier League season. Seems pretty absurd that there was no previous award like this  but regardless it is here now and seems to be a good addition to the awards given at the end of each season. This award is said to be presented for the first time at the end of the 2017-2018 season, which is sooner than some may have expected.

The PFA Player of the Year Award will be announced on Saturday, April 21st and the top two players in line to receive the award are Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne and Liverpool winger Mohamed Salah. As it stands right now it seems as if Salah is going to be the choice winner of the award, but with this new award Kevin De Bruyne’s personal silverware hopes are still high. Having helped Manchester City secure the Premier League title is an additional bonus to the successful season but the Belgian international is also currently in line to win this new award with his 15 assists so far, sitting atop the assist leaders table by 3 assists.

Other players who could qualify for the award before the end of the season are two of De Bruyne’s Etihad Stadium teammates, Leroy Sane and David Silva who have 12 and 11 assists themselves on the season so far. Also Tottenham Hotspur duo Dele Alli and Christian Eriksen have 10 assists and 9 assists, respectively, and are only two other players closing in. Not to forget that three other players around the league currently have 9 assists each and are some big names as well; Arsenal’s Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Manchester United’s Paul Pogba and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah.

With only 6 assists separating the top eight players in line for the award, Kevin De Bruyne knows that they are slowly closing in to stake a claim on his soon to be award. As the 2017-2018 Premier League season enters its final weeks, the race for the new award will only get more intense as each player looks to be named the Premier League’s first Playmaker Award winner.



Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: