2018 MLB Cy Young Award Winners Announced

Earlier tonight, The BBWAA Cy Young Award winners were announced and the winners are Blake Snell and Jacob deGrom.

DeGrom was the obvious choice to win the award, and that showed in the voting as he was nearly the unanimous pick, with earning all but one first place votes. deGrom set a major league record with 29 starts of 3 earned runs or less this season, as well as 24 straight quality starts to end the year. deGrom had a 1.70 ERA, the fifth lowest ERA in a season since the mounds were lowered in 1969. He also struck out 269 batters, had a 1.98 FIP, a .912 WHIP, the lowest HR/ 9 rate in the bigs with 0.4 per nine innings, and had a 216 ERA+. With his 10-9 record this year, there were still idiots who thought that deGrom didn’t deserve the award based on his win total, which is completely asinine. Hopefully, with deGrom’s win this year, the win-loss record is no longer a measuring stick for a pitchings ability. Congratulations to Jacob deGrom on an absolutely remarkable year.

Not to be forgotten is Blake Snell. Snell, as I’ve said before, was the driving force behind the Rays being a competitive team this year. Snell only threw 180.2 innings this year, making it the least amount of innings throw by a Cy Young winner. Still, Snell made every one of those innings count, as he struck out 221 batters and had an ERA of 1.89. Snell also struck out an even 11 batters per nine and had a major league leading 219 ERA +. I know I just “killed the win” as a credible stat, but it’s also worth noting Snell led the league in wins with 21. The American league Cy Young was much less cut-and-dry than the National league vote, but Snell was able to just edge out Justin Verlander.

Congrats to both pitchers for reaching the pinnacle of the position this year, and hopefully many more to come.

Photo: Sports Illustrated


Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: